What is the Frank Mahoney Award?

The Frank Mahoney Award recognizes outstanding leadership, community service and real estate brokerage success among young industrial real estate professionals—those with five to seven years of experience. The award was established as an annual award to recognize a young industrial real estate professional who embodies the character traits displayed by Frank Mahoney.

Who is Frank Mahoney?

Frank Mahoney began his industrial real estate career in the early 1970’s after serving as a clergyman in South America. He started his career with Van Vlissingen & Company before ultimately beginning his own firm, Frank Mahoney & Associates, in the early 1980s. Throughout his career, until his death in the late 1980s, Mahoney was an active member of the Association of Industrial Real Estate Brokers serving as a member, committee chairman, director and an officer of the organization.

What makes a Frank Mahoney award winner?

The award recognizes the positive impact a broker has had in the industry and the community with five years or less in the industry. The winner is a respected and productive member of the real estate community, and truly embodies the pillars AIRE stands for, including collaboration, community and conducting business in a manner that is above reproach. The award considers transaction volume, but has been rededicated to focus on giving back to the community, supporting the industry and serving the needs of clients.

If you know an AIRE broker with <5 years of experience that displays
exemplary commitment, character, and integrity, nominate them below.

Previous Award Recipients

1989 – Britt Casey, Cushman & Wakefield
1990 – Aileen Gozzola Sandstedt, GVA Industrial Worldwide
1991 – David Bercu, Colliers Bennett & Kahnweiler
1992 – Michael Nelligan, Trammell Crow Co.
1993not awarded
1994 – Scott A. Nelson, Epic/Savage Realty Partners
1995 – Brent De Noble, Colliers Bennett & Kahnweiler
1996 – Howard Bramson, Frain, Camins & Swartchild
1997 – Richard Turasky, Capital Realty & Development
1998 – Whit Heitman, Paine/Wetzel ONCOR International
1999 – Brian Townsend, CenterPoint Properties
2000 – Dan Leahy, NAI Hiffman
2001 – Jeffrey Janda, Lee & Associates of Illinois, LLC
2002 – Brett Kroner, CB Richard Ellis, Inc.
2003 – Eric Tresslar, NAI Hiffman
2004 – Brian Colson, NAI Hiffman
2005 – Thomas Rodeno, Colliers Bennett & Kahnweiler
2006 – Chris Gary, Darwin Realty & Development Corp.
2007 – Adam Roth, NAI Hiffman
2008 – Adam Marshall, NAI Hiffman
2009 – Sean Henrick, Cushman & Wakefield of Illinois
2010 – Adam Tarantur, Podolsky Northstar CORFAC Int’l
2011 – Kelly Disser, NAI Hiffman
2012 – Christine Choi, Avison Young Chicago
2013 – Kelly Gray, Jones Lang LaSalle
2014 – Jared Paff, Transwestern
2015 – Calum Payne, CBRE
2016 – Mike DeSerto, Entre Commercial Realty
2017 – Brett Tomfhorde, NAI Hiffman
2018 – Matt Cowie – Cushman & Wakefield
2019 – Cory Kay – Entre Commercial
2020not awarded
2021 – Ryan Klink – Cushman & Wakefield

Frank Mahoney Nomination Form 2022

Step 1 of 4

Nominee Name

Eligibility & Criteria

An industrial broker who acts with energy and integrity and personifies the conduct, principles and values AIRE imagines for its members. This is an award that celebrates commitment and character, not just financial success. An industrial broker with five (5) years or less experience as of December 31, 2022 and a current AIRE member or pending member inductee.